Cuscatlan Department trip planner

Create a fully customized
day-by-day itinerary for free

Itinerary Planner
+ Add destination
2 adults
- +
- +
- +

Cuscatlan Department

Cuscatlán is a department of El Salvador, located in the center of the country. With a surface area of 756.19km2, it is El Salvador's smallest department. It is inhabited by over 252,000 people. Cuscatlán or Cuzcatlán was the name the original inhabitants of the Western part of the country gave to most of the territory that is now El Salvador. In their language it means "land of precious jewels". It was created on 22 May 1835. Suchitoto was the first capital of the department but on 12 November 1861, Cojutepeque was made the capital. It is known in producing fruits, tobacco, sugar cane, and coffee among other items. The department is famous for its chorizos from the city of Cojutepeque.Municipalities Candelaria Cojutepeque El Carmen El Rosario Monte San Juan Oratorio de Concepción San Bartolomé Perulapía San Cristóbal San José Guayabal San Pedro Perulapán San Rafael Cedros San Ramón Santa Cruz Analquito Santa Cruz Michapa Suchitoto Tenancingo
Cuscatlan Department is in El Salvador. Find what you're looking for from your Cuscatlan Department holiday, by planning the whole thing with us using our handy El Salvador trip itinerary planning website.
Create a full itinerary — for free!

Plan your trip to Cuscatlan Department

  • Get a personalized plan

    A complete day-by-day itinerary
    based on your preferences
  • Customize it

    Refine your plan. We'll find the
    best routes and schedules
  • Book it

    Choose from the best hotels
    and activities. Up to 50% off
  • Manage it

    Everything in one place.
    Everyone on the same page.

Places to visit in Cuscatlan Department

Popular things to do in Cuscatlan Department

Duration: 1h 30 min
Duration: 2 hours
Duration: 2 hours
Duration: 2 hours
Duration: 4 hours
Duration: 2 hours
Duration: 30 minutes