Tarija Department trip planner

Create a fully customized day-by-day itinerary for free
Itinerary planner
+ Add destination
2 adults
- +
- +
- +
Trip PlannerSouth America  /  Bolivia  /  Tarija Department

Tarija Department

Wineries & Vineyards · Landmarks · Architectural Buildings
Tarija is a department in Bolivia. It is located in south-eastern Bolivia bordering with Argentina to the south and Paraguay to the east. According to the 2012 census, it has a population of 482,196 inhabitants. It has an area of. The city of Tarija is the capital of the department.SubdivisionsThe department is divided into five provinces and one autonomous region: Gran Chaco Province (autonomous region) Aniceto Arce Province José María Avilés Province Cercado Province Eustaquio Méndez Province Burdett O'Connor Province Notable places in Tarija include: Villamontes in the department's oil-producing eastern scrubland Bermejo, a border town adjoining Aguas Blancas, Argentina Yacuiba, a border town with Argentina. The Department of Tarija is renowned for its mild, pleasant climate, and comprises one of the country's foremost agricultural regions. Its citizens have traditionally felt close to, and conducted a lively international trade with, neighboring towns of northern Argentina. Between 1816-1898, the region was part of Argentina, and was ceded to Bolivia in exchange for Puna de Atacama.
Add Tarija Department and other destinations in Bolivia to your travel plans using our Bolivia trip builder app.
Create a full itinerary — for free!

Plan your trip to Tarija Department

  • Get a personalized trip
    A full day by day itinerary based on your preferences
  • Customize it
    Refine your trip. We'll find the
    best routes and schedules
  • Book it
    Choose from the best hotels and activities. Up to 50% off
  • Manage it
    Everything in one place. Everyone on the same page.

Places to visit in Tarija Department