Let's plan a trip to Nueva Segovia Department

Nueva Segovia Department Trip Planner

Lookouts · Parks
Nueva Segovia is a department in Nicaragua. It covers an area of 3,123 km² and has a population of 211,200 (2005 census). The capital is Ocotal.History of Las SegoviasLas Segovias is a region encompassed by the five departments of northern Nicaragua: Estelí, Jinotega, Madriz, Matagalpa, and Nueva Segovia. The natural boundaries, are bordered on the north by the mountains around Dipilto, Jalapa and Mozonte, which extend to the Coco River. On the southern border, the area is bounded by the mountains around the towns of La Trinidad and San Nicolás, which sweep downward to the valleys between Sébaco and El Sauce. Towards the east the river valleys bordering La Concordia, Jinotega, San Sebastián de Yalí and Wiwilí de Jinotega form the demarcations of the natural boundary. Finally, on the west the boundary extends from the slope of a mountainous triangle which extends to the coastal plain adjacent to the Pacific Ocean encompassing Estelí, San José de Cusmapa, and San Juan de Limay.
With the Inspirock international travel planner, Nueva Segovia Department and other destinations across the globe can be made central to your personalized travel plans.
Create a full itinerary — for free!

Plan your trip to Nueva Segovia Department

  • Get a personalized trip
    A full day by day itinerary based on your preferences
  • Customize it
    Refine your trip. We'll find the
    best routes and schedules
  • Book it
    Choose from the best hotels and activities. Up to 50% off
  • Manage it
    Everything in one place. Everyone on the same page.

Places to visit in Nueva Segovia Department